Why I Deleted My Snapchat

 Jesus replied, “The most important commandment is this: ‘Listen, O Israel! The Lord our God is the one and only Lord.  And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’ The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these.” Mark 12:29-31 NLT

Today I deleted my snapchat account and I wanted to share the reason I did it. First I have  had an account for years, and today I realized just how much time I have spent on sending information to friends that I can’t get back. This really hit me hard since the information I was senSnapchat_7.1.13ding was not and did not share the Gospel with anyone.

I have added up the time that I have spent on this social media site and it is a travesty. When I think that every breath I take, eight people slip into eternity and six of them slipped into eternity without Jesus and opened their eyes in hell. These people will never have another opportunity to hear how much Jesus loves them. And I will have to answer for some of them for not taking the time to share Jesus with them.

I know it is just a fun app, and I will agree with you but, it is also an app that can swoon you away from God. How does it do that?

  1. It glorifies the created and not the creator. I am talking about selfies. Selfies have become a staple everyday to tweens, teens, and adults all over the world. We are so self-absorbed and prideful at how we look that we worship each and every picture. This is the sin of idolatry
  2. It causes us to doubt who are what we really are to God. Being so absorbed with what others think about us that we simply forget what God thinks about us. I have seen this in teens when someone posts or sends a response and it was negative and it changed their whole demeanor of attitude.
  3. Lastly, it takes time away from our relationship with others. When we are so self-absorbed with ourselves and what our “story” or what others “story” is portraying it takes time from our families, friends, and mostly it takes time away from sharing the Gospel with the lost world then it is time to delete it.

Is snapchat the only social media that is this way? No. Any other social media program or app can be the same, but in my life it was snapchat.  It all boils down to this, satan was using this social media app to keep me occupied and while I was occupied he was winning, by keeping me from sharing the Gospel with others and keeping me from time with my family and friends, now I have turned the tables. I turned as if I was looking him in the eye and said, “I am no longer my own satan, I was bought by the precious blood of my Savior Jesus Christ, so I am no longer enslaved by defeat and in the name of Jesus, leave me alone!” And BAM Snapchat is gone!!

Do you have something that you are putting before God? If you do, the reread the verse at the top and delete it from your life.

I hope this has helped someone out there and remember, Jesus loves you and died for you on a cross, but the great thing is, HE IS NOT DEAD! He is ALIVE and loves you!

God Bless, Greg

About radicalspeaks

Greg is a youth worker that loves teens and wants to see them live a RADICAL life for Christ by sharing their faith with their friends. Sometimes being RADICAL is not popular, but keep in mind, Jesus wasn't popular sometimes either. Greg is married and has three daughters and lives in Corryton.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

