Love For The Lost

I want to continue with the next part of session one that we didn’t get to cover on Sunday. As Christians we may say that we love the Lord, and that we will pray for our friends, we may even drive around in our cars with Christian bumper stickers all over it. The reality is most of the time we don’t share enough information with our lost friends to allow the Holy Spirit to change their lives. I want you to read 1st Peter 2:9-12 and then look at yourself and see if you are providing enough information to your friends about where God has brought you from.

I see in these verses:

  1. we were once like the world now we are a chosen people
  2. a royal priesthood, holy, and no longer belong to ourselves
  3. we are God’s very own possession
  4. now we can show our friends the goodness of God, because He has called us out of the darkness and into the light

I think you get what I am saying in just verse 9, there is a lot of information that we can share with our lost friends, remember we were once without an identity now we are God’s people, there was no mercy for us, now we have received God’s mercy. That should look familiar to you too (it is verse 10)

Think about this, many of our friends knows what the Bible says about eternal life but they try to find a middle ground, so they won’t have to really change. I know, that is how some of our Christian friends do also. No one is “almost there”. Keep in mind that if your friends and family reject Christ they are condemned already, God doesn’t look the other way when they stand before Him. When your voice is trembling, hands are shaking, or you stumble over the word, God can and will use your witness, but God CANNOT, use your silence!!!

This comes to today’s post, Love the lost. God wants all Christians to have a heart for lost people. This is what is hardest for us most of the time. Why? because it is not our nature to like or love for that matter everyone.

Jesus had a passion driving Him in spite of rejection, suffering, and even death. HE LOVED THE LOST!!! He wants us to love the lost people the way that He does. If we look at John:20:21 we see that. “As the Father has sent me. I am sending you” that verse alone tells us that He wants us to be like Him and LOVE THE LOST! I know that is one verse so I am gonna end with a idea of true passion for the lost looks like. Look in 1st Corinthians 9:19-23: “Even though I am a free man with no master, I have become a slave to all people to bring many to Christ. When I was with the Jews, I lived like a Jew to bring the Jews to Christ. When I was with those who follow Jewish law, I too lived under that law. Even though I am not subject to the law, I did this so I could bring to Christ those who are under the law. When I am with the Gentiles who do not follow the Jewish law, I to live apart form the law so I can bring them to Christ. But I do not ignore the law of God, I obey the law of Christ. When I am with those who are weak, I share their weakness, for I want to bring the weak to Christ. Yes, I try to find common ground with everyone, doing everything I can to save some. I do everything to spread the Good News and share its blessings.”

Are we as Christians willing to be like Paul and sacrifice for our lost Friends? Are we willing to become a slave to everyone in order to share our love for Christ without compromise!!

Later!!

About radicalspeaks

Greg is a youth worker that loves teens and wants to see them live a RADICAL life for Christ by sharing their faith with their friends. Sometimes being RADICAL is not popular, but keep in mind, Jesus wasn't popular sometimes either. Greg is married and has three daughters and lives in Corryton.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

